Brushed Sear and Stew Slow Cooker

Brushed Sear and Stew Slow Cooker

Model Number:48701

Brushed Sear and Stew Slow Cooker is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 1037.
  • y_2020, m_2, d_27, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1037
  • loc_en_GB, sid_48701, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_morphyrichards
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 46ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

The Sear and Stew Slow Cooker allows you to sear the meat in the same pan. Searing meat in the cooking pan means that the juices from the meat combine with the rest of the ingredients creating richer fuller flavours in your dishes.

shop our full range of slow cookers

View instruction book


Rated 5 out of 5 by from great features I bought this a few weeks ago. It is fantastic. You can brown your meat before cooking. I cooked a bit silverside and it was the most tastes tender piece of meat I have ever had.
Date published: 2015-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Red..48702 MR Sear & Stew Slow Cooker Ok...so this was the first purchase for this non stick pot model...I now have the red and silver (48702).. As I wanted to interchange the pans for different recipes for batch freezing for my freezer and prepping the meals for an elderly gentleman I know...I loved it from the word 'go' ..it's neat, tidy, not too big or small..cooks brilliantly well....washed up so easily (just the lid and pan) and the unit just needs a wipe over...that's it!! Cuts down on all those different saucepan accessories,mashing up board space..superb and highly recommended!! By the way...I have 5 MR Produvts now, 2 of these, 1 X digital version and 2 Intellichefs!! Think THAT.. says it all!! FAB priduct said..MR are onto a winner!!
Date published: 2017-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Finish, Exactly what you Expect and more We have had a few slow cookers in the past but this one has been by far our favourite. Very simple to use, with 4 different temperature settings which is very useful for different recipes (slow cooked overnight porridge being my favourite). The red metallic finish is vibrant and looks very professional on the kitchen counter and I have had many pleasant remarks from my friends. Ive only had it for 6 months or so and use it a few times a week but has kept its appearance extremely well and haven't had a problem yet! So simple to clean and I couldn't recommend it more! 5 STARS!
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not too bad For the price the slow cooker is adequate. It is a cheap no frills product an average build quality. This can be seen by the lack of fit on the lid, the loose screws protruding from the bottom, and the cheap materials used in the construction. Still, for the price I believe these are bearable issues as the slow cooker does its job as intended.
Date published: 2017-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great slow Cooker at a Great price I have been looking for a good slow cooker for a while and decided to take the leap on this cooker and i am very pleased with the result. Firstly it was easy to set up and not over complicated at all, secondly I love the fact you can cook straight in the pot on the stove taken away the needs for differetn pots an pans. I have cooked a number of dishes now, following some sugested recipies that come witht the cooker and found it stress free and again easy to use, with great results. I would recommend this highly to anyone in the market for a good value slow cooker.
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight Only bought it this week and used it for the first time last night. Opened the box and found all the items inside had been securely and safely packaged. The clear lid allows you to see how the food is cooking inside without lifting it off and loosing the heat. Love the fact that the main dish and lid are dishwasher safe and sure enough they both came out looking like new. Couldn't believe how lightweight the main dish is so if you had to wash by hand would be very manageable. Overall an excellent product as expected from Murphy Richards and would highly recommend.
Date published: 2017-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Only just bought this slow cooker, but it's already cooking dinner. I love the fact you can sear the meat in the cooking pot on the hob. It makes the process so easy, and with less washing up involved! With our old slow cooker, we would have to seal the meat in another pan, before transferring it to the slow cooker. Such a streamlined process with the Sear and Stew Slow Cooker. I can't wait to try some of the recipes from the enclosed booklet. Judging by the smell of dinner, currently simmering along nicely, this slow cooker is going to be well utilised in our kitchen!
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks smart cooks smart Recently purchased this, my third slow cooker and my second Morphy Richards one. This is the smallest I have had but now the kids are older this does my partner and I just fine. Love the fact that it looks a bit more stylish than the usual silver. What makes this stand out is the none stick metal inner pot. you can fry your onions or soften your root veg on the hob before sticking it on. Its a life saver if your busy 10 mins in the morning sticking some meat and veg in the pot with a little stock and tea is ready when I get home. highly recommend this product
Date published: 2017-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a good product Bought this product to replace my old slow cooker. It is so good to be able to sear the food before cooking, this improves the flavour tremendously. I find it so useful to prepare and cook while I can continue with other things. I am using it to create lovely healthy and warming dishes for the family. Most recipes can be adapted to cook in the cooker. I also love the look it is so smart to have in the kitchen. Looking forward to trying the recipes in the cookbook.
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great colour and styling. I had this as a Christmas present and love it. I can prepare the ingredients and once the meat is sealed in the removable cooing pot, just pop in the other ingredients and leave it for your chosen cooking time. A fantastic, tasty meal awaits you on your return from work 8 hours later (or however long you work). Just cook up some pasta or rice or any other accompaniment to go with your slow cooker creation and you have the perfect meal. You can choose your setting from 3 options low, medium and high and you can monitor the cooking through the transparent lid.
Date published: 2018-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great easy to use product This is my first slow cooker. I chose this product because I could sear food in the same pot as cooking. My very first attempt was a beef stew, I was very happy with how easy the cooker is to use and also myself and my husband really enjoyed our meal. being able see the food cooking is a great advantage. The pot, cooker and the lid are very easy to clean (I don't own a dishwasher). I would recommend this product to anyone who is thinking of buying their first, or updating a previously owned slow cooker. Well done Morphy Richards on yet another great product.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What an amazing buy! This is an amazing buy. It basically prepares food for you, all you need to is to add all your ingredients and voila! It is extremely easy to use and the size is perfect. The cooking pot is great, you can easily wash it and use it on the stove. It's a lovely product.
Date published: 2017-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish I'd bought one before.... I love slow cooking whether it be a stew, a chilli or a range of other recipes however my previous one would be too fast, even on a low setting. I was also put off from using my old one during the week as it was too fiddly to sear the meat etc. in a different pan. Now it's all so much easier....I sear the items I want all in the same pot which makes it easy and also retains all of the flavours, throw in all the other items and then put it on a low heat and head off to work. I love coming home to a delicious and healthy dinner. One downside is that there is no timer to switch it on but I can always use a standard one (as I do with my side lamps) so not a major minus. I've already recommended this to family and friends. Enjoy!
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Very Stylish design & so easy to use I shyed away from cooking Stewing steak before but using this slow cooker it came out beautifully tender & it came with some recipe ideas in the booklet which was a bonus.
Date published: 2016-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Squirrel Casserole Cooked to Perfection I had been toying with buying a slow cooker for several months and bought this on a whim. I also bought some prepared wild squirrel on a whim because.... why not. The insert worked beautifully for browning the squirrel pieces and accompanying vegetables making this truly a one pot dish. The clear lid meant I could check the progress of the casserole without needing to lift the lid and let out heat. Reheating the casserole was also remarkably easy and the resulting dish was truly delicious. Minimal washing up required which is also a plus in my book.
Date published: 2019-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from replacement for my old faithfull slow cooker My original Morphy Richards Slow Cooker was a Christmas Present around 10 years ago and had served me well especially through the winter months when it was in daily use. Last week my wife broke the ceramic pot and we then realised what an essential piece of kit it was (we both work full time) with this in mind I went out today and purchased the sear and stew version. It not only looks good it represented very good value for money and as an extra bonus the cooking pot is metal rather than ceramic so should hopefully be wife proof as well(just joking)
Date published: 2017-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I have been given this as a birthday present and I love it, it was amazing and I have cooked ribs and they were so tender and delicious and I can wait to use more of it.
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Non stick just peels off Bought one then a replacement pot thinking just a faulty batch...but no same again ...both non stick coating just peels off
Date published: 2016-11-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Misleading Description- you must read the manual b Sear and Stew is a misrepresentation. It does not Sear no more than boil, bake, roast or fry. It is a slow cooker only. You can use the pan on another cooker, but only if it is non-induction. The Sear part of the advertisement should be removed.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product For may years we have been using a ceramic Morphy Richards Slow Cooker, but as we get older it was becoming a problem due to the weight - nothing at all wrong with the Slow Cooker. So we decided to try the Sear and Stew Slow Cooker, wow what a difference not just in the weight but also the huge benefit of using to Cooking Pot on our cooker to sear the meat/vegetables and still providing excellent meals. We were so impressed that we went and bought our daughter one!!! Really pleased with this product and would highly recommend this to anyone.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I bought this a couple of weeks ago now and it has been a great addition to the house. So easy to use and produces great and tasty meals! Really good that the cooking pot can be used on the hob - saves washing up of extra saucepans - love this feature. Instruction booklet helpful with some good ideas of recipes. Good having the different settings for cooking (high,medium,low) - works well around my job and saves hassle of preparation in the evening. Product is really lightweight and easy to clean. Would recommend this to anyone! Fab product!
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taking Slow Cooking to Another Level! I purchased the Slow Cooker having used a similar model whilst on holiday. Prior to that I've always used a ceramic Slow Cooker and wasn't aware of the 'sear/stew' option. I am very impressed by how easy the unit is to clean (compared to ceramic - even egg-based dishes don't stick) and how much more efficient it makes meal preparation. My first recipe was one included with this Cooker (Beef Curry) and was voted 'best slow cooker curry' (ever!) by all 'consumers' (!) Finally - I purchased the Cooker from Amazon and one of the reviewers stated that it would only work on an electric hob. This isn't true. The manual illustration is an electric hob but the unit works fine on a gas ring. So - VERY impressed & have already recommended to friends.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sear and stew Had this as a Christmas present so have only used it a couple of times. Meat very tender but still have to get used to which vegetables take longer to cook so will cut smaller (swede). This is the first cooker of this type I have had so still a newbie. Always used oven previously for slow cooking. Like the lightweight of the product as I find it more difficult to lift heavy items. In the main there are only two of us so will need to either reserve the second portions for another day or adapt the recipes. Overall very pleased with my gift.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Buy This Year I have used a slow cooker for years but I bought this a month ago and have used it several times. It is lightweight so easy to store away but the best thing about it is that I can use it on my hob to seal the meat and soften onions/vegetables and to bring liquid to the boil. Saves using another pan and spilling contents when transferring into slow cooker. (I'm a little clumsy!) Also if family eating at different times food can be served and cooker turned off and remaining contents heated up on hob. Beats my old slow cooker hands down.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fantastic purchase I brought this 2 weeks ago and have already used it 3 times already. The first time, the chicken came out absolutely perfect and it was super tasty, my husband was highly complimentary and kept saying how delicious the food was before going back to seconds...I kept saying "it has been slow cooked to perfection". I am already researching new recipes to try - this will become a staple once the weather turns cold, who doesn't want to come home to the smell of a home cooked meal. It is really easy to use and very easy to clean too. Perfick!!
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy If been wanting to replace my old crock pot are it wase to big and heavy after reviewing a few slow cookers I settled on this one and boy did I make the right choice .it looks gd .it's supper light wich is ideal for me are I have artharitist n struggle gripping and lifting. I can make my meals all in one pot without having to brown and dear in a repeat pan so saves on washing up wich is all ways gd it ase different settings wich is great .and is so easy to clean all in all I'm 100 percent happy with my pitches well done morph Richard's
Date published: 2019-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant, practical and idiot-proof.. We have relied on slow cookers for several years, as a super-easy way to prepare great meals. I recently made the faux pas of trying to sear meat over a hob with our last cooker, not realising that the ceramic would break. We replaced it with this model, because of the convenience of being able to sear the meat in the Aluminium, non-stick pot, before moving it straight to the cooker. I really don't know why all slow cookers aren't made this way. It's a fantastic machine, which looks great, cooks great, is inexpensive, easy to clean and as a bonus, only weighs half as much as ceramic models (which is a consideration when packing it to drive to France). I did a lot of research. This was the best cooker on paper and has lived up to it in the kitchen.
Date published: 2016-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use and tasty results I've been meaning to get a slow cooker for a while - and I'm so pleased I chose this one. The winning feature (apart from its attractive cream colour) is the separate Cooking Pot that you use to prepare the dish on the hob, sear the meat etc before transferring it to the Base Unit to cook. There are some great recipes in the instruction leaflet too. Also worth mentioning are the choices of high/medium/low.. I'm now looking forward to coming home from work to good food, all ready to eat, with no fuss. Oriental pork will be next....
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Uses - Great Value I purchased this whilst my wife was away and after trying out on myself I cooked a delicious casserole for her return. The quality of the product is very good for the price paid and using couldn't be simpler. I like the way the metal pot can be used on the stove to sear the meat etc.; saving on using an additional pan; before adding the other ingredients for the slow cooking. I would have liked heat proof handles on the metal pot as one needs to remember it gets hot and oven gloves are needed when transferring to the slow cooker unit. The pot is attractive enough to place on the dining table for serving, remember a heat proof pad, and cleaning the non-stick pot is quick and easy; either by hand or in the dishwasher. The 2 year guarantee is an added bonus.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple Perfection The Red Sear and Stew Slow Cooker was a real winner for me from start to finish. Great price, minimal packaging making it easy to get out and set up and simple to use. I have used it to cook some very delicious meals with very little effort, just put the food together and leave the cooker to do it's magic. I have to say too that cleaning up was a dawdle.
Date published: 2016-12-04
  • y_2020, m_2, d_27, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1037
  • loc_en_GB, sid_48701, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_morphyrichards
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT