Brushed Sear and Stew Slow Cooker

Brushed Sear and Stew Slow Cooker

Model Number:48701

Brushed Sear and Stew Slow Cooker is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 1025.
  • y_2020, m_1, d_20, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1025
  • loc_en_GB, sid_48701, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_morphyrichards
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 156ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

The Sear and Stew Slow Cooker allows you to sear the meat in the same pan. Searing meat in the cooking pan means that the juices from the meat combine with the rest of the ingredients creating richer fuller flavours in your dishes.

shop our full range of slow cookers

View instruction book


Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great size, but a few flaws. I bought this a few months ago and have been enjoying using it a lot. I have a mobility problem so the ability to set food cooking in the morning and have tea ready after uni is great. However, I bought this mainly for the sear aspect and was disappointed that I was unable to use it on an induction hob - I have just moved into halls and didn't realize this was a problem so that was disappointing. Also, the front dials for temperature are only made of plastic, meaning they feel a little cheap and I am a little concerned about it breaking. Aside from this, it is a fantastic little slow cooker that is big enough to cook a few portions of a meal to freeze or share and I would recommend.
Date published: 2017-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very simple to use and good looks too We've had a slow cooker for about 15 years (another make) and when it finally packed up, we wondered if the Morphy Richards model would be as good. Hopefully we'll have to wait 15 years to find out but it seems very good and cooks just as well. The aluminium cooking pot is much lighter than our old ceramic one, so makes the whole thing easier to handle. Unfortunately, because it is aluminium, we can’t use it on our induction hob, but that’s no hardship since we couldn’t use our ceramic one on the hob either, and are used to searing in a frying pan first. I particularly like the non-stick coating. It makes the bowl much easier to clean. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2016-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks Good, Performs Great Not had the product long but used it a few times already and very pleased with it. Having decided to get a slow cooker , the Morphy Richards looked so good on display. Style, shape and the colour is very pleasing to the eye.. Controls are simple and straight forward, no confusing controls. Great. Just put your food in set it up and switch it on. Its that simple. The nice thing is that the vegetables in the cooker stayed firm when we cooked chicken and veg, even potatoes didn't turn soft and soggy. Its a fantastic product that looks as good as it performs. Go on treat yourself to something a bit special that gives a lot pleasure.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight slow cooker I was in need of a replacement as my old crock style pot on my old slowcooker was showing signs of stress cracks. I spotted this sear and stew cooker in my local supermarket and since it was on special offer decided to give it a whirl. It's great that I can put the cooking pot on the hob to brown off the meat prior to adding other ingredients - this saves on time and washing up. Also with the pot being a lightweight metal instead of a crockpot it makes the unit light and easy to use and is not too heavy to carry. I have only used it twice so far but I am very please with it and can't wait to try some more recipes.
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliantly practical We first used one of your slow cookers a few weeks ago (lent to us by a friend) after which we went out and purchased one of our own. This is one of the most practical cooking appliances we have purchased. The Morphy Richards design is very well though-out, simplicity itself to use and easy to keep clean. It is amazing the range of different things you can cook in it and very time the results are really tasty and first-class. Sometimes, we extend the flexibility of the product by plugging it into a timer socket. This means we can leave home very early in the morning and a have a delicious late supper in the evening.
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sear ability is fantastic! I bought this on the basis that the pot could be used to sear on the hob - and I am extremely pleased with it from the get go. The cooker is so lightweight that cleaning is quick and easy (meaning I will definitely use it more often!). I love the size (3.5L), which is perfect for the two of us, making vast amounts of tasty food for the week. It stores away easily and the red colour works extremely well in our kitchen. No loss of moisture after cooking for 8 hours too, so the lid is extremely well fitted to the pot (something I experienced from a previous slow cooker of a different brand). Cannot recommend enough for quality, value and aesthetic...I love the red!
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My life is complete! Being a member of slimming world means you have to prepare food and cook from fresh. This slow cooker has allowed me to cook full, hearty and healthy meals during my busy lifestyle without having to come home at the end of the school working day, being too tired to cook. All I do is pop in all the ingredients (sometimes searing the meat easily in the pan part first) and put it on slow so it cooks during the day!! I have tried SO many meals in this slow cooker such as lasagne, bolognese, stew, hotpot... the possibilities are endless. I would thoroughly recommend this product with its easy to clean, non-stick pan inside and the beautiful colour on the outside too!
Date published: 2017-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from disappointed bought this cooker and used it once and the coating scratched even using a plastic spoon. Disappointed as I bought to replace one with ceramic pot thinking it would be better. Will be taking back for refund.
Date published: 2016-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent kitchen addition! I bought this after a lot of research and deliberation, and what swung the decision was the metal internal pot. This is suitable for use on a stove top to brown meat, onions etc before beginning the slow cooking process. This cuts down on washing up (just a little!) but gives really good results. Everything I have tried in it has turned out really well - especially recommend caramelised onions, as they are so much easier than stove top cooking. Nice and compact, but big enough for food for four. Can't think why I waited so long to buy this brilliant bit of kitchen kit!
Date published: 2016-01-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Used 3 times I used the slow cooker three times and already the non stick coating is coming off. I have only used wooden spoons when cooking conscious of the non stick coating. Not using it anymore because the coating comes off on my finger when I rub it. I don't want that in my food.
Date published: 2015-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great All Round! I bought my slow cooker at the beginning of the year and have used it once a week since purchase, what a handy thing to have! Being so easy to use it a huge plus with the slow cooker as it makes preparing dinner much less time consuming, especially when having a house to run and a young child at school who needs picking up and dropping off etc. The recipes in the quick start guide are brilliant and very easy to prepare. Preparing a meal in the morning and leaving it to cook throughout the day is brilliant. The end result of what I've cooked has been brilliant each and every time, an all round great purchase!
Date published: 2016-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost Perfect! I bought this slow cooker for Christmas as it seemed to be a good idea - use the inner pot to sear meat, soften onions and add more taste to slow-cooked foods. And it works - brilliantly. Food tastes better and the non-stick coating means easy cleaning afterwards. I just can't understand why there is no sort of handle which can be attached to the pot so as to hold it steady on the hob. The pot slides about on my electric hob and the only way to hold it still whilst stirring the contents is with an oven-gloved hand. Come on Morphy Richards - give us a handle!
Date published: 2018-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A cut above the others I've just taken delivery of my second sear and stew slow cooker. I've given my daughter my used one. I'd regularly used it for over two years. Because of me being too lazy to reach for a wooden utensil the pan was somewhat scratched. Still usable and my daughter needed one so I get to have the new one. I can't understand why all slow cookers aren't like this one. It's so easy and convenient to use. I set the cooker on high, to heat up, whilst I start off the meal on the hob. When you're ready just put the pan into the cooker. Then off you go to do something else in your role of a multi-tasking wonder-woman.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely brilliant I have owned this model over 3 years and it has been used two or three times every week for soups, stews, hotpots and joints of all types of meat, everything seared and cooked to perfection. It is the most used appliance in the kitchen, saving time and money on electricity. I have just purchased two more, one for myself to replace my existing slow cooker when it eventually ceases to work and in case the model is no longer available and the other for my niece. I receive lots of compliments from the family on the delicious meals I cook and have recommended this excellent slow cooker to several friends.
Date published: 2019-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just the job! My kitchen is mostly full of Morphy Richards products so when I decided that I needed a slow cooker I looked no further than this product. I absolutely love the fact that you can put the cooking pot straight on to the hob and seal the meat, meaning that all the juices remain and add to the overall flavour. As I work full time, it's a great way of preparing hearty meals all ready for the family to eat when we get home. It's easy to keep clean with the non stick pot and i'm absolutely thrilled to bits with it. Thank you for putting the recipes in the user manual too, i'll certainly be giving these a go!
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life made easier!! I had thought of getting a slow cooker for ages on the advice of friends, and I am so glad I finally did. Now I can have beautifully cooked, tender meals ready whether I am at home or not. Having an aluminium pan, this slow cooker is so light and easy to handle and carry, with three heat settings to ensure food is cooked just right. You can sear meat on a gas or halogen hob, and then transfer to the slow cooker. I have only tried a few different types of meals in it so far, but every one has been successful and very popular with the whole family, whether a meat based dish or vegetarian. And if you plug it into a timer plug, you can set it to turn on or off when you are out. Brilliant!!
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from new idea on an old theme Great slow cooker being able to sear meat in pan saves on flavour and washing up Sons a chief but after using mine went out and got one Its amazing the difference it makes to the flavour of your cooking
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My perfect time machine!!! Received my Sear and Stew Slow cooker as a Christmas gift. I just love it!!! It has become my new best friend. Easy to use, simple to follow recipes for starters, main course and dessert dishes in the manual provided, so eady to clean. Size perfect for our needs (2.5 litres). Using the inner cooking pot on the hob saves preparation and washing up time. Oh joy!! Great curries and fabulous rice pudding already created, now onwards and upwards into the new year to expand my repertoire of dishes. Now I can spend less time in the kitchen and more time with my other "loves" my husband, family, friends, hobbies and hours more walking time for my dog and I ...... perfect gift in every way.
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sleek and Stylish I bought this 6,5l slow cooker a few weeks ago for the prime purposes of easy, time saving cooking for friends and family, and bulk cooking for the freezer. I found being able to sear ingredients in the slow cooker pot before transferring it straight to the slow cooker base was an easy ‘no muss no fuss’ experience. So far I have cooked and frozen lamb stew, bolognaise sauce and minestrone soup for the freezer, all with excellent results. I love the look of the slow cooker and find it stylish enough to keep on the counter top, without feeling I have to pack it away. Lightweight and easy to clean, I found it a very worthwhile purchase and can’t think of any negative aspects to share.
Date published: 2019-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant results I bought this to replace my old Morphy Richards slow cook which must be 15 years old but still going strong. This one appealed to me as it had variable settings which my old one did not. I loved the light aluminium pan for searing and it worked a treat, preparing the food quickly and evenly before setting it into the main body for slow cooking. In just a few minutes everything was ready. The low setting is particularly useful as we are out for long periods and on return the meal is ready and waiting, cooked to perfection. A good modern look is a bonus for this cooker. Very highly recommended.
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Should have bought it years ago I have another slow cooker, with a ceramic pot, and have used it happily for years. It's a great way to cook. But the ceramic pot is now too heavy for me to manage, especially when full, so I have also bought this, with its lightweight aluminium central pan. I thought it was a compromise, but that is not the case. Because I can use the aluminium pot on the hob, I can sear my meats before slow cooking, in the same pot as I slow cook! This has haved the washing up and the time needed to set up my meals. I use it all the time - at least four times a week, for both wet (goulashy) and dry (roast) meals. Plonk the stuff in the pan, sear and slow cook.Then off to work. When I get back, meal time!
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the single guy! I bought this slow cooker less than a month ago, and it works! As a busy guy with not much time to spend cooking, this is a lifesaver for tasty food. Just prep the night before, fill it up in the morning and let it cook on slow. 8-10 hrs later (depending on when I get home) I have a perfect home cooked meal, and some left over for the next day. It's light weight, easy to clean and reliable. Top Stuff Morphy Richards!
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An absolute blessing Received the Sear and stew slow cooker for a xmas present from a friend a few days ago and have already used it three times its a convenient size,easy to use and very simple and quick to clean you have a handy three setting dial at the front and you literally turn it on and leave it for a few hours very convenient for casseroles,stews,curries or i even slowed cooked a ham in coca cola yesterday an absolute blessing and didn't realise how much i actually needed one of these. So glad someone else thought of it for me.
Date published: 2015-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PACKAGING I BOUGHT THIS SLOW COOKER TODAY AND I MUST SAY, INITIALLY, THAT EVEN BEFORE USING MY COOKER, THE PACKAGING WAS ABSOLUTELY PERFECT AND TOTALLY PROTECTED THE PRODUCT. MY COOKER IS COOKING AT THE PRESENT AND I DO NOT WISH TO EAT UNTIL 8.0 P.M. AND ALREADY THE WONDERFUL SMELL IS EXTREMELY TEMPTING. I HAVE HAD TWO SLOW COOKERS BEFORE THIS ONE - BOTH MORPHY RICHARDS - SO I KNOW I CAN PUT ALL MY TRUST IN MY NEW ONE.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life changing improvement... ...at the same price as a basic slow cooker! I am already the owner of two slow cookers, but when I saw that I could sear the meat in the pot with this model, I knew I had to have it! Morphy Richards did not disappoint on this. As a time poor cook, I usually skip the searing process and my meals suffered a little as a consequence. Now, I can make 10/10 meals with minimum effort! Not only is the pot good for searing meat, I can also brown onions and soften garlic, herbs and spices in a touch of oil too. The best thing I've bought in a long time. Thank you, Morphy Richards!
Date published: 2017-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slow and stead always wins! Slow cookers have been making a comeback recently. I always thought that they’re so 70's and just meant eaten stews! Boy I was wrong. With our modern work schedules, long hours and endless commutes, I've been spending less time in the kitchen and more time in the local chippie. This modern designed slow cooker looks retro (ironically) and blends seamlessly with all my other household appliances. Its three heating functions (low, medium, high) are a perfect combination for “timed” cooking. The low setting should cook between 6-8 hours; medium is 4-6 hours; and high is 3-4 hours. I have now recognised slow cookers as the latest time saving device. Prepare your meat and vegetables the night before and load the lightweight aluminium pot in the morning. It does unfortunately does not benefit from a built-in timer, but you could always buy a cheap wall socket timer. I just select the low setting, whether I work 8-10 hours, my food is still succulent and moist without worrying that I’ve left an appliance all day. It operates between 130-164W, so is a very low energy consumer. At its highest setting, it’s consuming less than two 100W light bulbs to cook food! Possibly one of the greenest ways of cooking. I’ve discovered tasty bolognaise dishes, melt in the mouth pulled pork and even succulent beef briskets can be cooked while I’m at work and ready to be eaten when I walk through the door.
Date published: 2016-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I bought this recently and have been enjoying using it a lot. I leave for work early so the ability to set food cooking in the morning and have tea ready after work is great. However, I bought this mainly for the sear aspect and was disappointed that I was unable to use it on an induction hob . Also, the front dials for temperature are only made of plastic, meaning they feel a little cheap and I am a little concerned about it breaking. Aside from this, it is a fantastic little slow cooker that is big enough to cook a few portions of a meal to freeze or share and I would recommend.
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great item for healthy cooking Whilst I like the fact that the inner pot can be used as a pan on the gas, it could have benefit from a handle, as the pan gets very hot. Other than this design flaw, a great slow cooker
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple to use with no mess My mum brought me this as a birthday present. As a busy mum this product is perfect. The meat is so tasty and my girls are happy they don't have to wait for dinner when they get home from school. The different heat settings mean you can have the meal cooking from breakfast if you need. The cooker is much lighter than I thought it would be especially for the size of the pot. A whole chicken is no problem even with the veg cooking at the same time. The non stick pan also means it is very easy to clean. I'm so happy I had this for my birthday and now looking up new recipes to try.
Date published: 2017-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great features I bought this a few weeks ago. It is fantastic. You can brown your meat before cooking. I cooked a bit silverside and it was the most tastes tender piece of meat I have ever had.
Date published: 2015-09-30
  • y_2020, m_1, d_20, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1025
  • loc_en_GB, sid_48701, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_morphyrichards
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT